Mayor & City Commission Information

The position of mayor shall be elected at large by the registered voters of the city. The mayor shall preside at all meetings of the city commission and perform such other duties consistent with that office; and shall have a voice and vote in the proceedings of the city commission, but no veto power.

The mayor shall serve as the head of the municipal government for the purpose of execution of legal documents as required by ordinance. The mayor shall also serve as the ceremonial head of the city.

The commission members are elected officials who are accountable to the citizens at regularly held elections and who are subject to recall as provided by law. The citizens, through these processes, have the opportunity to elect, re-elect, or dismiss their elected officials whose promise of performance or actual performance in office does/does not reflect the policies which the citizens desire to implement in the government of the city.

Policy making is the sole prerogative of the commission. Administrative staff, whether hired or appointed under terms of the City Charter, is subordinate to the elected officials, whose power derives from the consent of, and election by, the citizens of the city.

Meetings are normally held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6:00PM in the Commission Chambers.

Current City Commission:

Mayor Douglas Gibson               Term: 11/2020-11/2024

Commissioner Linda Hyatt         Term: 11/2018-11/2022

Vice Mayor Bill Lindlau              Term: 11/2020-11/2024

Commissioner Kathy Bittle         Term: 11/2018- 11/2022

Commissioner Steve McGee     Term: 11/2020-11/2024